over four decades Bull Mill, on the banks of the River Wylye, has been a
vibrant centre for visual arts in South Wiltshire. It was founded by
the current Marquess of Bath.
The artists and
craftspeople who now have studios and workshops here practice
a range of arts including: painting, printmaking, jewellery,
sculpture, gilding, antique restoration, yoga and music.
BULL MILL ARTISTS are taking
part in the 10th WYLYE
VALLEY ART TRAIL
Sat 18 - Mon 27 May. 10.30am - 5.30pm daily.
Read more on the
Please like our facebook
where you will find more
information and news
There has been industry
at Bull Mill since before the 10th century. Parts of the
present building date back to the 1600's. During the 19th
century it was a silk mill. The main mill was demolished
before the first World War after falling into disuse.
Remaining are the mill
house, cottages, storerooms, and stables which have been
converted into studios, workshops and living accommodation for
artists and their families. In this tranquil setting it is
difficult to imagine the large factory that once stood here,
employing hundreds of people.